CPA Awards

​The CPA disburses the following awards:

Enid Graham Memorial Lecture

This is the most prestigious award bestowed by the CPA. Through years of excellence in the profession, the recipient presents a lecture on the topic of their choice at Congress. 

2018 Recipient: Alison Hoens. Read bio here.


Previous Recipients

Life Membership Award

Presented to current or former CPA members, who have contributed to the growth of the profession through at least 25 years of service at local and/or national levels.

Previous Recipients

Honorary Membership Award

An honorary membership is presented to an individual who merits special recognition for contributions to the physiotherapy profession. (Available to affiliates/non-physiotherapists.)

Previous Recipients

Global Health Award

Presented to a member who has augmented the profile of physiotherapy internationally.

Previous Recipients

Mentorship Award

Recognizes physiotherapists who provide inspiration to their colleagues by acting as a role model for professionalism and volunteerism.

Previous Recipients

Clinical Education Award

Presented to a member who has made outstanding contributions to the clinical education of physiotherapy students.

Previous Recipients

Helen Saarinen Rahikka Student Leadership Award

Presented to a student member who has demonstrated leadership and made outstanding contributions to the promotion of the profession.

Previous Recipients

CPA Maryann Jefferies Leadership Award

Presented to a member of the National Physiotherapy Assistants Assembly (NPAA) in acknowledgement of their contributions to enhancing the role of physiotherapist assistants within the profession.

Previous Recipients

CPA Professional Contribution Award

Recognizes individuals who have enhanced the profession through a unique and outstanding contribution over a notable period of time.


CPA Partnership Award

Presented to an organization that has advanced the image, ideals, and goals of physiotherapy.

Previous Recipients

Silver Quill

Recognizes excellence in scientific writing for Physiotherapy Canada in the areas of qualitative or quantitative research, knowledge translation and student research.

Recipients determined by editorial board of Physiotherapy Canada.

Criteria  Previous Recipients


CPA Awards Committee

Maureen Dwight PT, Chair
Maria Lung PT
Laura Galiana, PT, M.Eng, Université de Montréal
Ellen Cohen B.Sc(PT), MSc


For more information on our awards program, please email Kerry Kittson, PFC and CPA Awards Manager, or call 1-800-387-8679 ext. 253.