CPA Awards

The CPA awards program recognizes CPA members who have made a distinguished contribution to our profession. The program runs on a biennial basis, aligning with CPA Congress. As 2019 is a non-Congress year, only one award will have a call for nominations: the Helen Saarinen Rahikka Student Leadership Award. The call for nominations is now open until February 24th, 2019.


The CPA disburses the following awards:

Accepting Nominations for 2019:

Helen Saarinen Rahikka Student Leadership Award (Annual)

Presented to a student member who has demonstrated leadership and made outstanding contributions to the promotion of the profession.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients


Enid Graham Memorial Lecture

This is the most prestigious award bestowed by the CPA. Through years of excellence in the profession, the recipient presents a lecture on the topic of their choice at Congress. 

2018 Recipient: Alison Hoens. Read bio here.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients


Life Membership Award

Presented to current or former CPA members, who have contributed to the growth of the profession through at least 25 years of service at local and/or national levels.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Honorary Membership Award

An honorary membership is presented to an individual who merits special recognition for contributions to the physiotherapy profession. (Available to affiliates/non-physiotherapists.)

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients


Global Health Award

Presented to a member who has augmented the profile of physiotherapy internationally.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Mentorship Award

Recognizes physiotherapists who provide inspiration to their colleagues by acting as a role model for professionalism and volunteerism.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients


Clinical Education Award

Presented to a member who has made outstanding contributions to the clinical education of physiotherapy students.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

CPA Maryann Jefferies Leadership Award

Presented to a member of the National Physiotherapy Assistants Assembly (NPAA) in acknowledgement of their contributions to enhancing the role of physiotherapist assistants within the profession.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients


CPA Professional Contribution Award

Recognizes individuals who have enhanced the profession through a unique and outstanding contribution over a notable period of time.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

CPA Partnership Award

Presented to an organization that has advanced the image, ideals, and goals of physiotherapy.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients


Silver Quill (Annual)

Recognizes excellence in scientific writing for Physiotherapy Canada in the areas of qualitative or quantitative research, knowledge translation and student research.

Recipients determined by editorial board of Physiotherapy Canada.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

CPA Student Award (Annual)

This award is given to the graduate with the highest average from each entry-level physiotherapy education program in Canada. Recipients receive one year's complimentary membership in CPA and its Divisions.

Recipients determined by each University.




CPA Awards Committee

Jennifer Cummings PT, Chair
Ellen Cohen B.Sc(PT), MSc
Jasmine Pollice PT
Chris Napier PT, PhD
Mike Stewart PT


For more information on our awards program, please email Kerry Kittson, PFC and CPA Awards Manager, or call 1-800-387-8679 ext. 253.